Go Back   CDN Business Directory > Main Category > Taxes

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2009, 06:29 PM
Kevin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: https://www.freefilefillableforms.com


"Bill" <an_ordinary_guy_158[at]hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:23290-49D60101-1564[at]storefull-3173.bay.webtv.net...
- quote -

> kevin[at]rocketmail.com (Kevin) posted:
> > I want to file a 4868; is the above a legitimate
> > thing? Identity theft and all that...

> I assume you reached the site noted through http://www.irs.gov ...
> which offers links to free filing sites. (If not, you might check the
> irs site.)
> In any event, irs gives a standard warning that when you link to
> particular sites, you are leaving the irs site -- and you should do your
> own due diligence regarding security issues.
> I assume that's what you are doing :-)


Its what I am trying to do!
- quote -

> I have no knowledge of security issues with this particular site;
> however, perhaps someone will post if they know anything.
> Did you try the option to have the irs site assist you in selecting a
> site, given your needs? That option asks you to describe your general
> situation while still on the IRS site. In your case, since you're
> simply seeking an extension, they might offer a link to an irs site?
> (Haven't gone that far, don't know, but might be worth trying.)

They give two options, free online software if your income is low, and this
free form stuff otherwise.
The IRS has absolutely nothing directly that I could find.

I used it and got an acknowledgement from them them that the IRS accepted my
extension request. I sure hope it is trustworthy.
It just makes me nervous when the IRS provides the link and says you are on
your own if you follow it.
NYS does it all internally; much much better.

--
<< ------------------------------------------------------- > << The foregoing was not intended or written to be used, > << nor can it used, for the purpose of avoiding penalties > << that may be imposed upon the taxpayer. > << > << The Charter and the Guidelines for submitting posts > << to this newsgroup as well as our anti-spamming policy > << are at www.asktax.org. > << Copyright (2007) - All rights reserved. > << ------------------------------------------------------- >
 
Old 04-03-2009, 12:28 PM
Bill
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: https://www.freefilefillableforms.com


kevin[at]rocketmail.com (Kevin) posted:

- quote -

> I want to file a 4868; is the above a legitimate
> thing? Identity theft and all that...


I assume you reached the site noted through http://www.irs.gov ...
which offers links to free filing sites. (If not, you might check the
irs site.)
In any event, irs gives a standard warning that when you link to
particular sites, you are leaving the irs site -- and you should do your
own due diligence regarding security issues.

I assume that's what you are doing :-)

I have no knowledge of security issues with this particular site;
however, perhaps someone will post if they know anything.

Did you try the option to have the irs site assist you in selecting a
site, given your needs? That option asks you to describe your general
situation while still on the IRS site. In your case, since you're
simply seeking an extension, they might offer a link to an irs site?
(Haven't gone that far, don't know, but might be worth trying.)

Bill

--
<< ------------------------------------------------------- > << The foregoing was not intended or written to be used, > << nor can it used, for the purpose of avoiding penalties > << that may be imposed upon the taxpayer. > << > << The Charter and the Guidelines for submitting posts > << to this newsgroup as well as our anti-spamming policy > << are at www.asktax.org. > << Copyright (2007) - All rights reserved. > << ------------------------------------------------------- >
  #-1  
Old 04-02-2009, 07:27 PM
Kevin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default https://www.freefilefillableforms.com

I want to file a 4868; is the above a legitimate thing?
Identity theft and all that...

--
<< ------------------------------------------------------- > << The foregoing was not intended or written to be used, > << nor can it used, for the purpose of avoiding penalties > << that may be imposed upon the taxpayer. > << > << The Charter and the Guidelines for submitting posts > << to this newsgroup as well as our anti-spamming policy > << are at www.asktax.org. > << Copyright (2007) - All rights reserved. > << ------------------------------------------------------- >
 
Similar Threads
Thread Forum Replies Last Post
HTTPS OFXServer URL
marco.a.mendonca@gmail.com: Hi, I'm using MSMoney 2005 and the following problem occurs: i'm trying to do an Account Update. I'm using fiddler to lookup the URL that MSMoney...
Microsoft Money 3 11-15-2007 05:40 PM



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:04 PM.