|
#5
| |||
| |||
| On 2006-02-09 19:26:57 -0500, "nospam" <nospam[at]atall.xatt.net> said: - quote - > Googling the terms FTC and optoutprescreen yielded the following:
Sweet. Thanks!> http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/conline/pubs/.../prescreen.htm -- Plain Bread alone for e-mail, thanks. The rest gets trashed. No HTML in E-Mail! -- http://www.expita.com/nomime.html Are you posting responses that are easy for others to follow? http://www.greenend.org.uk/rjk/2000/06/14/quoting |
|
#4
| |||
| |||
| "Bread" wrote: - quote - > Anyway, on the bottom of the page is a box telling me that I can
Googling the terms FTC and optoutprescreen yielded the following:> "choose to stop receiving "prescreened" offers of credit from this > and other companies" by calling a toll-free number or by going to > http://www.optoutprescreen.com They also list the addresses and > phone numbers of Trans Union and Experian and Equifax. > That website looks fairly legit, but I was wondering if anyone > out there had heard of it before or knows more about it before I > go giving them my information. I did a 'whois' on the domain > and it doesn't tell me anything useful - ie. it's not explicitly > owned by Experian or one of the others. http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/conline/pubs/.../prescreen.htm |
|
#3
| |||
| |||
| Bread <BreadWithSpam[at]Fractious.Net> writes: - quote - > That phone number was precisely the one listed along with the
The number, 888-5-OPTOUT, is also listed on the Federal Trade> addresses and website. Commission website, so I'm pretty configent that it's legit. -- Rich Carreiro rlcarr[at]animato.arlington.ma.us |
|
#2
| |||
| |||
| On 2006-02-09 14:43:38 -0500, "Jon" <jonworth[at]yahoo.com> said: - quote - > I would avoid any kind of opt-out option that is provided by the
That's why I was asking here. It was provided, however, on the reverse> company that sent you the solicitiation. Using this option can get you > put on another list of "valid" contacts which can lead to an increase > in spam/junk mail because now they *know* that your email/street > address is valid. This list may then be sold to other companies for > marketing purposes. of the solicitation in the same paragraphs as the addresses of the various credit agencies and the phone number. - quote - > Sounds like the 888 number given by the previous poster may be worth
That phone number was precisely the one listed along with the> looking into... addresses and website. -- Plain Bread alone for e-mail, thanks. The rest gets trashed. No HTML in E-Mail! -- http://www.expita.com/nomime.html Are you posting responses that are easy for others to follow? http://www.greenend.org.uk/rjk/2000/06/14/quoting |
|
#1
| |||
| |||
| I would avoid any kind of opt-out option that is provided by the company that sent you the solicitiation. Using this option can get you put on another list of "valid" contacts which can lead to an increase in spam/junk mail because now they *know* that your email/street address is valid. This list may then be sold to other companies for marketing purposes. Sounds like the 888 number given by the previous poster may be worth looking into... |
| | |||
| |||
| Bread <BreadWithSpam[at]Fractious.Net> writes: - quote - > Anyway, on the bottom of the page is a box telling me that I can
Why not just play it safe and just call the 888-OPTOUT5 (or whatever> "choose to stop receiving "prescreened" offers of credit from this > and other companies" by calling a toll-free number or by going to > http://www.optoutprescreen.com They also list the addresses and > phone numbers of Trans Union and Experian and Equifax. > That website looks fairly legit, but I was wondering if anyone > out there had heard of it before or knows more about it before I > go giving them my information. I did a 'whois' on the domain the exact number is) that's listed on the web sites of The Big Three? I did that 10+ years ago and very seldom get card solicitations anymore (the only ones I get are from cards associated with the frequent flier programs I'm in). And keep in mind this only stops offers driven by pre-screens. It doesn't stop offers driven off of other types of lists. So if you were a member of the FooBar Society, and FooBar Society decided to market credit cards to its members, the cardco that the Society signed up with could still send you solicitations. (Though they wouldn't have access to credit bureau prescreen info for you when doing it). -- Rich Carreiro rlcarr[at]animato.arlington.ma.us |
|
#-1
| |||
| |||
| So, like anyone with a house and a mortgage, I got yet another solicitation yesterday from a company which wants me to refinance. Like the rest, they have a somewhat disturbing amount of what I consider rather personal information - ie. balances on my outstanding mortgage and HEL. Anyway, on the bottom of the page is a box telling me that I can "choose to stop receiving "prescreened" offers of credit from this and other companies" by calling a toll-free number or by going to http://www.optoutprescreen.com They also list the addresses and phone numbers of Trans Union and Experian and Equifax. That website looks fairly legit, but I was wondering if anyone out there had heard of it before or knows more about it before I go giving them my information. I did a 'whois' on the domain and it doesn't tell me anything useful - ie. it's not explicitly owned by Experian or one of the others. I do plan on opting out of this stuff and I'm pretty sick of the credit reporting agencies handing out my personal information like candy. And I'd love to do it via web (and I'd love to be able to tell other folks to do it this way), but thought I'd run it by you nice folks first. |
| Tags |
| notice, optout, prescreen |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Forum | Replies | Last Post | |
| Will I get a notice from the IRS? gindie: During 2006, wife withdrew a small amount of excess same-year contributions from her SIMPLE IRA. Fidelity performed the transaction and sent a... | Taxes | 3 | 06-04-2007 02:30 AM | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |